Hunter of Films: Moonrise Kingdom (2012)

11 Jul

Wes Anderson is one of those highly acclaimed filmmakers whose movies I watch because he is a highly acclaimed filmmaker. After watching last year’s Moonrise Kingdom I can see why he continues to hold a loyal fan base. It is beautifully shot, rich in color and detail, incredibly creative in its storytelling, and captures its themes of innocence, adventure and nostalgia brilliantly. It may be the best Wes Anderson film I’ve seen for exactly these reasons. He has masterfully created exactly the movie he meant to create, and pulled it off stunningly, and I am struggling to care.

As with all his other movies, Moonrise Kingdom is emotionally utterly flat. I understand this is a draw for his fans, as though sucking out all the emotion from each scene somehow makes them funnier or more tragic. And I get the impact of deadpan, and I see how Anderson leverages it to create a certain quirkiness in his characters which I suppose is meant to substitute for actual humans. But populated with expressionless characters the gorgeous natural setting and richly drawn scenes all come up empty.

I can’t emphasize enough how brilliant every other aspect of this film is – the visuals are stunning, the story is engaging, the production design is meticulous. It makes me want a giant full color poster to hang on my wall. As a matter of fact, I might prefer the poster over the film.

Make a comment